Working on Articulation at Home — Where Do I Get the Stuff?

This is the fourth post in a series of working on articulation skills at home.  You may have noticed that lists of target words for repeated practice are the keys to success.  I use a variety of materials – purchased and homemade.  Changing up the activities and materials makes the work less boring and more successful. Here are some of the things I use:

HOMEMADE

  • Plain old paper with drawings.  I often put a row of stickers downon the sheet and the child touches a sticker for each repetition of the word.

image2

  • I’ve made flash cards out of stickers, pictures from books and magazines and Google images.  (The invention of Google has made this drastically easier.  Long gone are the days when I would spend hours flipping through magazines to find pictures of things that start with the /g/ sound).

image1 (1)

  • LessonPix.com – this is a membership site that costs $36 a year (but you can tr it out for free for a limited time).  The beauty of this site is that you type in a letter or letter combination and hundreds of pictures appear that use that sound.  Then, with just a few clicks you can create worksheets, games, cards, books or charts.  Really, it is that easy!

image1

PURCHASED

Superduperinc.com is usually my go to for pre-made articulation materials.  You can by decks of cards featuring a particular sound.  Use the cards as flash cards, to play Go Fish (how many games of Go Fish have I played in my career???), Concentration or a game I made up called Treasure Hunt (I place all the cards face down with 2-3 wild cards mixed in.  We take turns flipping over a card and naming the picture until the wild cards are revealed.  I put the wild cards upside down, so I know where they are and can avoid selecting them to enable the game to last longer and the child to win).  The Webber Photo Articulation cards are my favorite.

348

Also available are Bingo cards, board games and books with reproducible worksheets.  Many come with a CD or in a digital format to aid in printing.

CDLBK210

Linguisystems.com, speechbin.com, proedinc.com, speechandlanguagekids.com, academictherapycom and speechpage.com are some other sources you might want to try.

APPS

  • Articulation Station – my favorite.  It allows you to buy all the sounds in a bundle, or just the individual sounds you need.  My kids love it.
  • Apps by NAED home speech therapist – my second favorite and the very best for kids who need practice with repeated consonant/vowel patterns
  • All of the above mentioned publishers produce apps as well.  I have not used many of these.

Do a quick search for ‘articulation’ in your app store and you will get lots of options.  Most offer a free trial version, so don’t purchase until you’ve tried it out and know that it is worthwhile.

So, if your little one (or big one) has some minor articulation errors, you can work on it at home and fix it — One Word At A Time.

Leave a Reply

