Out of the Mouths of Babes

It is a cold, snowy day here and I don’t have kids in the office.  Its a perfect day to share some of the funny things I”ve been told.

B:  My dad went hunting.  He got a big deer.

Me: Did you see it?

B:  Yes, and it came with ketchup already on it.


 

J. was a little girl who had a /t/ for /k/ substitution.  She also really loved my cats.  Here is a snippet of how she expressed that:

Miss Lisa, I just love your tiddies.  I love to pet them and hold them.  Your tiddies are so soft.  I wish I had your tiddies.

funny-face-cartoons-Clipart-1-272x273


 

I had some pretty major surgery on my head.  My head had to be shaved and I wore scarves for a while to cover up the scarring until my hair grew back in.  I warned all of my parents to talk to their children, telling them I was ok, but that I might look a little different.  M. feared the worse I think.  When he saw me for the first time he said:

Lisa, you don’t look like a zombie alien at all.  You just look old fashioned.


I was working with C. on categories.  We were playing “tell me three things about…..”.

Me:  C., tell me three things about a baby.

C:  (Pulls up his shirt and points to his belly button).  Here!

Me:  What do you mean, I don’t understand.

C: Babies come from your digestion!


 

Me:  Good job C.  You are such a smart cookie!

C:  I am not a cookie, Miss Lisa.  A cookie is a snack.  I am not a snack.  You cannot eat me!Laughing_Face_cartoon


A classic example of auditory processing deficits.  I mentioned to a student that I felt a draft.  When he left, he said to the next child who was waiting, “be careful, there is a giraffe in there.  I didn’t see it, but Miss Lisa felt it.”

Whether you are in a snow place or a warm place, enjoy today.  Make the most of your time with your kids.  Learn new words and laugh at the funny things.

RTARjLGTL

 

Leave a Reply

